This is the "E-Books, Course
Reserves, etc." page of the "ChE381 & 382: Process Evaluation and Design I & II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ChE381 & 382: Process Evaluation and Design I & II  

Last Updated: Dec 14, 2016 URL: http://cooper.libguides.com/ChE161 Print Guide RSS Updates

E-Books, Course Reserves, etc. Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Remote Access to Cooper E-Resources

To access restricted e-resources from off campus, you must be authenticated by the Library's proxy server.  You will be prompted to enter the barcode number for your Library account (the 14-digit number on the back of your Cooper ID). If that doesn't work, stop by the Circulation Desk or call 212-353-4188.

Common problems include:

  • Fines of $5 or more on the account. You can log in to your account to check on fines owed.
  • Students: your account expires when you graduate or if you are not registered for classes in the current semester.
  • Faculty, staff, and administrators: your account may expire if you have not used our Library in the current semester; or you may not yet have a Library account. Stop by the Circulation Desk to register for an account or to update your information.

Test out your barcode number here. If it works you'll see a list of restricted resources available from off campus.

 

Consortium Libraries for Engineering

The Cooper Union Library is a member of the Research Library Association of South Manhattan, a consortium of academic libraries established in 1977. The libraries share an online catalog and provide faculty and students of member institutions with access to each other's collections.

Cooper Union faculty, students, and administrators may borrow at the Consortium libraries. Make sure that your library account is activated and updated at our Circulation Desk prior to going to the other libraries.

While not officially part of the Consortium, Polytechnic Institute's Bern Dibner Library gives Cooper Union faculty and students borrowing privileges, and their library holdings appear in BobCat.

 

Recommended E-Books

Chemical Engineering Design: Principles, Practice and Economics of Plant and Process Design2nd ed., Elsevier, 2013.  Online via Knovel.

Chemical Process Equipment - Selection and Design,  3rd ed.,  Elsevier, 2010.  Online via Knovel.

Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology, James A. Kent, ed. (formerly Riegel's Handbook of Industrial Technology),  Springer, 2013.

Process Intensification in Chemical Engineering: Design Optimization and Control, J.G. Segovia-Hernandez, et al., eds., Springer, 2016.

Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers,  by Steven Hall,  Elsevier, 2012.  Online via Knovel.

Guidelines for Engineering Design for Process Safety,  American Institute of Chemical Engineers, 2012.

Catalyst Separation, Recovery and Recycling: Chemistry and Process Design, David Cole-Hamilton et. al, eds., Springer, 2006.

Fuels and Lubricants Handbook - Technology, Properties, Performance, and Testing, ASTM, 2003.

Essentials of Water Systems Design in the Oil, Gas, and Chemical Processing Industries, Springer, 2013.

 

Course Reserve Books

Reserve Books are available at the Cooper Library Circulation Desk. Please ask for Reserve books by their call numbers. Reserves may be borrowed for a two-hour period during the day, and may be taken out overnight after 4:00 PM. (due back at 11:00 AM the following day).

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 8th ed., 2008
Includes properties of chemicals, articles on equipment, processes, reactor design, safety, etc. 
See Chapter 9 on cost analysis.
Latest edition on Reserve for this course:  TP151 .P45 2008
Previous editions in regular circulating collection:  TP151 .P45

Chemical Reactor Design and Control, by William L. Luyben, AiChE, 2007.  TP157 .L89 2007

Unit operations of chemical engineering, by Julian Smith, Peter Harriott, .Warren McCabe. Boston: McGraw-Hill 2005.  TP155.7 .M3 2005

Analysis, Synthesis, and Design of Chemical Processes,  R. Turton,  Prentice-Hall, 2012.  TP155.7 .A53 2012.

 

More Suggested Books (Print - Available in Cooper Library)

Albright's Chemical Engineering Handbook, Lyle Albright, ed., CRC Press, 2009   TP151 .A565 2009

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip