This is the "General Information" page of the "Papers of George F. Bateman (1887-1948)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Papers of George F. Bateman (1887-1948)  

Last Updated: Sep 7, 2011 URL: http://cooper.libguides.com/FABateman Print Guide RSS Updates

General Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Papers of George F. Bateman (1887-1948)

Includes papers from ca. 1896-1948, chiefly 1906-1937.

Call Number:  C  6B32A  B328  Shelf P

Biographical/Historical Note:

George F. Bateman graduated from the day session of the School of Engineering at The Cooper Union in 1907, with a bachelor's degree in Engineering.  In 1917, he took a degree in mechanical engineering at The Columbia University School of Mines.  He received his recruiting letter asking him to join the Naval Reserve on February 21, 1918, and became a Lieutenant in 1919.  In the Naval Reserve during World War I, Bateman had charge of various departments of instruction at the Naval Steam Engineering School at The Stevens Institute of Technology in Hoboken, New Jersey.  Following the war, in successive positions at Cooper Union of Instructor, Assistant Professor, and Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Bateman was responsible for the inception and development of the Mechanical Engineering Department.  Under his direction and through his efforts, the various departmental laboratories were designed and equipped, and the present course in Mechanical Engineering was developed.  He was named Dean of the School of Engineering in 1933, and at the Cooper Union graduation in June 1947, he received a scroll of honor in recognition of forty years' service.  Dean Bateman died unexpectedly on January 29, 1948 at the age of 61.

George Bateman was a member of several clubs many professional societies (see copy of his New York Times obituary for a list), including the New York Electrical Society, which met at Cooper Union.  He served as President of the Electrical Society from 1944-1946, and as a director of the Society from 1940-1947.  [The Cooper Archives is also the repository for the Records of the New York Electrical Society, 1881-1948].

Arrangement and Brief Description of Contents: 

The George Bateman papers are divided into two series:  Personal Correspondence, and Business Correspondence and Memorabilia.  The Personal Correspondence is arranged chronologically, and covers 1899-1937.  The Business Correspondence and Memorabilia is divided into sections for Cooper Union (1907-1936), Army and Navy Club of America (1925-1936), and miscellaneous items, including a postage stamp album, postcards, and road maps (including a map of Vanderbilt’s Long Island Motor Parkway).

Extent of Collection:  2 boxes; 2.6 linear feet.

Related Materials in the Cooper Archives

The Cooper Archives is also the repository for the George F. Bateman Collection of Cooper Union Alumni Association Material.  .  

The Cooper Archives also has the Records of the New York Electrical Society, 1881-1948, of which Bateman was President ( 1944-1946) and a member of the Board of Directors (1940-1947).



Finding Aid prepared by Mitsuko Brooks, May, 2010.

 

Availability

The Papers of George F. Bateman are held in the Cooper Archives of the Cooper Union Library, 7 East 7th Street, New York, NY 10003.  

Archives materials are available to interested researchers by appointment only. 

Please contact Carol Salomon, Archives Librarian:  
          e-mail: archives@cooper.edu          
          tel: 212-353-4187

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip