This is the "General Information" page of the "Contents of the Cooper Union Engineering Building Cornerstone" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Contents of the Cooper Union Engineering Building Cornerstone   Tags: archives  

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2016 URL: http://cooper.libguides.com/FACornerstone Print Guide RSS Updates

General Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contents of the Cooper Union Engineering Building Cornerstone

Includes papers from ca. 1948-1960, chiefly 1959-1960.

Call Number:   C 5DC C816 Shelf P

Historical Note:

The cornerstone ceremony commemorated the start of construction on the former Cooper Union Engineering Building, which stood on Astor Place between 3rd and 4th avenues, to the north of Cooper Union's original Foundation Building.  This ceremony coincided with the 106th anniversary of the laying of the cornerstone of The Cooper Union's original Foundation Building, which Peter Cooper built between 1853 and 1959.

Items related to the new Engineering Building, the history of Cooper Union and its current state, as well as examples of mid-twentieth-century technology, were placed into the cornerstone at a ceremony on September 17, 1959, and the cornerstone was sealed the following day.  Prior to the demolition of the building in 2011, the cornerstone was opened on July 20, 2011 and its contents were retrieved and transferred to the Cooper Archives.  Contents originally included two issues of the New York Times (Thursday, Sept. 17, 1959 and Friday, Sept. 18, 1959), which were not retained in the Archives. One of the scientific advances of the 1950s, a radioactive isotope of cesium, was removed for safety reasons.

 

Extent of Collection:  1 box;  0.5 linear ft.

 

Finding Aid prepared by Mitsuko Brooks, August 2011; updated by Carol Salomon, November 2016.  Some text in the historical note was adapted from the program for the Cornerstone Ceremony for the New Building of the School of Engineering, Sept. 17, 1959.

 

Availability

The Contents of the Cooper Union Engineering Building Cornerstone are held in the Cooper Archives of the Cooper Union Library, 7 East 7th Street, New York, NY 10003.  

Archives materials are available to interested researchers by appointment only. 

Please contact Carol Salomon, Archives Librarian:  
          e-mail: archives@cooper.edu          
          tel: 212-353-4187

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip