This is the "Cooper Databases" page of the " Database descriptions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database descriptions  

General information and descriptions for e-resources available from the Cooper Union Library and for selected e-resources at NYU and the New School libraries.
Last Updated: Mar 15, 2017 URL: http://cooper.libguides.com/databases Print Guide

Cooper Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile

Multidisciplinary resource containing thousands of references to journals and magazines; transcripts, audio and video of radio and television news; handbooks, factbooks, and reports. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more. There is some overlap with General OneFile.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box on the main search screen.
  • Full text: Much of the content includes full text. Follow SFX links to check other access options.
  • Update frequency: daily.
  • Coverage dates: 1980 to present.
  • Number of current journal titles, as of April 1, 2015: 16,791 indexed; 7,833 with full text; 7,062 full text with no embargo.
    View title list.
  • Access Restrictions: Off Campus.
 

Applied Science & Technology Source

Applied Science & Technology Source

"This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content that covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering." - Ebscohost site, Dec. 2016.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals on the Search form.
  • Full text: some direct links to PDF or HTML full text; otherwise follow SFX links to check other access options.
  • Update frequency: daily.
  • Coverage dates: 1983 to present. (Abstracts begin in 1993. Full text begins in 1997.)
  • Number of journal titles, as of December, 2016: over 895 full text journals and magazines, more than half of them peer-reviewed. View content lists.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
 

Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective

Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective 1913-1983

Subjects covered: Acoustics, Aeronautics, Applied Mathematics, Atmospheric Science, Automatic Control, Automotive Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Communication & Information Technology, Construction, Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Engineering & Biomedical Materials, Energy Resources & Research, Environmental Engineering, Fire & Fire Prevention, Food & Food Industry, Geology, Industrial Engineering, Machine Learning, Machinery, Marine Technology, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Metallurgy, Meteorology, Mineralogy, Mining Engineering, Nuclear Engineering, Oceanography, Petroleum & Gas, Physics, Plastics, Solid State Technology, Space Science, Textile Industry & Fabrics, Transportation, Waste Management. .

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals on the Search form.
  • Full text: None within this database. Follow SFX links to check access options.
  • Update frequency: Not applicable.
  • Coverage dates: 1913-1983.
  • Number of journal titles, excluding title changes, as of August 3, 2011: 1,199. View title list.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
 

Art Index Retrospective

Art Index Retrospective

Subjects covered: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals on the Search form.
  • Full text: None within this database. Follow SFX links to check access options.
  • Update frequency: Not applicable.
  • Coverage dates: 1929-1984.
  • Number of journal titles, excluding title changes, as of August 2, 2011: 557. View title list.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
 

Art & Architecture Source

Art & Architecture Source

Combines Art Index Retrospective and Art Full Text from H.W. Wilson with other resources from EBSCO. Includes books, images, and journal articles. This database concentrates on art, architecture, moving images, and design resources.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals on the Search form.
  • Full text: over 640 journals and more than 225 books.
  • Coverage dates: 1929-current
  • Number of current journal titles as of March, 2015: ~ 900. View title list.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
 

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Covers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design. Subjects: Archaeology, Architecture, Architectural design, City planning, Furniture and decoration, Historic preservation, History of architecture, Interior design, Landscape architecture, Urban planning.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: It is not possible to limit a search to peer-reviewed sources. For guidance, see the guide to Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals.
  • Full text: No direct full text. Follow SFX links to check other access options.
  • Update frequency: weekly.
  • Coverage dates: 1741 to present.
  • Number of journal titles, as of April, 2016: 2,500+ with 350+ currently published.
    View title list.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
 

Business Insights: Essentials

Business Insights: Essentials

Combines current news, business reports, and trusted reference sources with robust, interactive analysis tools. Includes company chronologies and histories; market research and market share reports; rankings; recent news; SWOT reports; company, industry, and association profiles; and more.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box on the Advanced Search screen.
  • Full text: Over half of the content. Follow SFX links to check other access options.
  • Update frequency: daily.
  • Coverage dates: Starting dates vary. Earliest begin in the late 1970s.
  • Number of current journal titles as of April 1, 2015: 1,504 current full text titles with no embargo.
    View journal title list.  View reference title list.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
 

Ebook Central (formerly ebrary Academic Complete)

Ebook Central

Authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas. Create your own account to be able to set up a personal bookshelf, highlight, annotate, and set default citation style. You can also download chapters or entire books. (Please note: Full book downloads expire after two weeks.)

Before you try to download an entire book:

  1. Create an Ebook Central account in order to create a custom bookshelf, highlight and annotate books online, and download books.
  2. Get an Adobe ID in order to authorize devices to store ebooks.
  3. To use a desktop or laptop computer, install Adobe Digital Editions. OR
    To use a mobile device, get the BlueFire Reader app.
  4. Connect to ebrary and follow the instructions.
  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: These are all authoritative sources.
  • Full text: all.
  • Update frequency: unknown
  • Coverage dates: N/A
  • Number of ebook titles, as of December 17, 2014: 118,656.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
 

General OneFile

General OneFile

Contains over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics and more.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box on the main search screen.
  • Full text: Over half of the content. Follow SFX links to check other access options.
  • Update frequency: daily.
  • Coverage dates: 1980 to present.
  • Number of current journal titles, as of February 1, 2012: over 6,700, approximately 4,000 with full text.
    View title list.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
 

Historical New York Times 1851-2010

Historical New York Times 1851-2010

Includes searchable full text and PDF images for The New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and The New York Times (1857-2009). This database is an ongoing project of the publisher. Coverage for later years will be added as the project progresses.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: This is not a peer-reviewed source. The frequency of publication of a daily newspaper does not allow enough time.
  • Full text: most. There are some omissions of articles and photographs if the author/photographer did not give permission for digital publication.
  • Update frequency: annual.
  • Coverage dates: 1851-2010.
  • Number of current journal titles: N/A (not applicable)
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
 

Humanities Full Text

Humanities Full Text

Topics covered include classical studies, literary & social criticism, philosophy, religion & theology, literature, art, dance, film, folklore, music, performing arts, area studies, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, and archaeology.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals on the Search form.
  • Full text: (some) Includes articles from over 300 periodicals from 1995 to the present.  Follow SFX links to check other access options.
  • Update frequency: daily.
  • Coverage dates: 1984 to present; 1995 to present for full text articles.
  • Number of current journal titles, as of January 2014: almost 700 total, including 300 with full text. View title list.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
 

IEEE Xplore

IEEE Xplore

Publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), in addition to content from some other organizations, such as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). The Cooper Union subscription is to the All-Society Periodicals Package, including IEEE journals, transactions, letters, and magazines, with the exception of Proceedings of the IEEE.

PLEASE NOTE:

  • Use the Sign Out link when done using this database. Our license does not allow for unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Pre-1988 journals, transactions, and magazines are available in print in our Library.
  • NYU subscribes to the complete package, including conference proceedings and standards. You have access to those items when you are at one of the NYU libraries, such as Bobst or Dibner.
 

JSTOR

JSTOR Arts & Sciences III, V

Arts & Sciences III: journals in languages and literature, as well as essential titles in music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Additional interdisciplinary titles broaden the scope of coverage in folklore, feminist & women's studies.

Arts & Sciences V: important literary reviews and state historical journals; widen the scope of core disciplines in the arts and humanities, such as philosophy, history, classics, religion, art and art history, and language and literature.

For more JSTOR, go to NYU (complete JSTOR) or The New School (Arts & Sciences I-V, VII).

PLEASE NOTE:

Most journals in JSTOR do not include any articles published within the last 3-5 years. This 'moving wall' is an embargo period between when a journal issue is published and when it appears in JSTOR.

JSTOR was designed as a digital archive, not a searching tool. Searching features are very limited compared to other databases available to you. There are no controlled terms for subjects, and only ~10% of articles include an abstract. 

For subject searching, it is better to use one of the other databases described in this section. Search results will show a link to JSTOR when needed to access a particular article.

     

    Kanopy Video Streaming Service

    https://cooper.kanopystreaming.com/

    Kanopy can be considered the Netflix of foreign, independent and educational films, and it works very much like that popular streaming service.

    There are hundreds of titles in art, architecture and engineering from such companies as the Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Michael Blackwood Productions, PBS, Checkerboard Film Foundation and dozens more.

    Create your own login to use special features and customizations such as:

    • Creating clips/playlists
    • Embedding any video or clip in your Learning Management System
    • Social media tools to facilitate conversations between students and filmmakers
    • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
     

    Knovel

    Knovel

    E-books and interactive tools in engineering and chemistry. Subject areas covered include Aerospace & Radar Technology, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering & Contruction Materials, Environment & Environmental Engineering, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Oil & Gas Engineering, Software Engineering, Sustainable Energy & Development, and Transportation Engineering. Also includes selected premium titles such as DIPPR Project 801.

    • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: These are all authoritative sources, if not officially peer-reviewed.
    • Full text: all.
    • Update frequency: variable.
    • Coverage dates: Current editions, generally, plus some earlier editions of the same titles.
    • Number of titles, as of November 7, 2014: ~ 4,700. Follow this link to browse all subject areas.
    • Access Restrictions: Off Campus.
     

    OmniFile Full Text Select

    OmniFile Full Text Select

    Full text articles from 11 Wilson databases: Applied Science & Technology FT, Art FT, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Education FT, General Science FT, Humanities FT, Index to Legal Periodicals FT, Library Literature & Information Science FT, Readers' Guide FT, Social Sciences FT, and Wilson Business FT.

    • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals on the Search form.
    • Full text: all.
    • Update frequency: daily.
    • Coverage dates: 1984 to present.
    • Number of current journal titles with no embargo, as of April 20, 2015: 1,811.
      View title list.
    • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
     

    Professional engineering societies' journals

    PLEASE NOTE: Earlier issues are available in the Library's print and microfilm collections.

    • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Most are peer-reviewed.
    • Full text: all.
    • Update frequency: varies.
    • Coverage dates: vary.
    • Number of current journal titles: See below.
    • Access Restrictions: Off Campus.

    American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)

    AIChE Journal (1955 to present)

    Biotechnology Progress (1985 to present)

    Environmental Progress & Sustainable Energy (1982 to present)

    Process Safety Progress (1999 to present)

    American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) (As of March 2017: coverage from 1983 to present, 38 current titles)

    American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) (2000 to present, 28 current titles)

    PLEASE NOTE: Subscription package includes only transactions journals. It does NOT include Applied Mechanics Reviews or Mechanical Engineering: The Magazine of ASME.

    However, Mechanical Engineering is available online from other sources: May 1989 to present available in Academic OneFile, and July 1993 to the present in EBSCOhost OmniFile.

    Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) - (dates vary, 149 current titles).

    Use IEEE Xplore to search across all journals.
    PLEASE NOTE: We do NOT subscribe to conference proceedings or standards,
    but the complete IEEE Xplore package is available at NYU.
    PLEASE NOTE: Use the Sign Out link when done. Our license does not allow for unlimited simultaneous users.

     

    Project MUSE

    Project MUSE (Humanities Collection)

    The Humanities Collection provides a highly relevant set of research journals for art schools, museums, performing arts organizations, film schools, and related institutions.

    You can search all collections in Project MUSE, but Cooper subscribes to full articles only from the Humanities Collection. For more Project MUSE, go to NYU or The New School.

    • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: They all are.
    • Full text: some. A green arrow next to the HTML or PDF version link indicates full text access (not just next to the Summary link). Follow SFX links to check other access options.
    • Updated frequency: monthly.
    • Coverage dates: 1993 to the present.
    • Number of current journal titles as of April 2015: 196.
      View Humanities Collection title list.
    • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
     

    Readers' Guide Abstracts + Full Text Mega

    Readers' Guide Abstracts + Full Text Mega

    Subjects covered: Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biography, Business, Canada, Children, Computers, Consumer Education, Current Events, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Religion, Science, Sports, Television.

    • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals on the Search form.
    • Full text: some. Links to PDF or HTML articles from OmniFile Full Text Select will appear automatically; follow SFX links to check other access options.
    • Update frequency: daily.
    • Coverage dates: 1983 to present. (Abstracts begin in 1984.)
    • Number of journal titles, excluding title changes, as of August 3, 2011: 391. View title list.
    • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
     

    SciFinder

    SciFinder

    SciFinder is a research tool for chemistry and related sciences, a comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions. It is produced by CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society.

    • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: You can assume they all are.
    • Full text: (some). The 'Full Text' links will take you to the complete item if possible. Otherwise you will see various options,including how to contact a Cooper librarian for help.
    • Update frequency: daily.
    • Coverage dates vary: journal article references: 1907, with some pre-1907 content; substance information: early 1800s; chemical reactions: 1840. See http://www.cas.org/content/at-a-glance for more detailed information.
    • Number of journal titles: more than 50,000.
    • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
     

    Social Sciences Full Text

    Social Sciences Full Text

    Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, and urban studies.

    • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals on the Search form.
    • Full text: (some). Full text articles from 215 periodicals from 1995 to the present. Follow SFX links to check other access options.
    • Update frequency: daily.
    • Coverage dates: 1983 to present for citations and abstracts; full text articles as far back as 1995.
    • Number of current journal titles, as of February, 2014: about 600, approximately 215 with full text. View title list.
    • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
     

    SpringerLink ebooks

    SpringerLink

    E-books and e-journals. SpringerLink allows unlimited concurrent users, with no DRM and the ability to download entire books or chapters. Subjects include engineering, computer science, biomedical and life sciences, medicine, chemistry, materials science, mathematics, statistics, business and economics, and more. Some of these ebook titles appear in BobCat with links for Cooper, but not all of them.

    • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: These are all authoritative sources.
    • Full text: some. (Cooper has access to some, but not all, ebooks on SpringerLink. When viewing search results, uncheck the option for 'Include Preview-Only content' to eliminate items we do not have access to.)
    • Update frequency: N/A.
    • Coverage dates: 2005-2015.
    • Number of ebook titles, as of October 2014: Cooper has access to 36,000 ebooks.
    • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
     

    Wiley Online Library

    Wiley Online Library

    Periodicals and books with some content in humanities, art, and architecture, and a strong collection in science.

    • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: A majority of the titles are peer-reviewed. There is no way to limit to peer-reviewed content.
    • Full text: most.
    • Update frequency: daily.
    • Coverage dates: vary.
    • Number of journal titles, as of April, 2015: Cooper has access to 2,208 full text titles; 1,429 of those are current.  View title list.
    • Access restrictions: Off Campus.
     

    WorldCat

    WorldCat on the FirstSearch platform (restricted, full version)
    WorldCat.org (free, unrestricted version)

    Follow this link for WorldCat mobile.
    Follow this link to explore apps for Android and iPhone that are powered by WorldCat.

    The OCLC Union Catalog, with records for materials held in member libraries around the world. Follow this link for facts and statistics.

    • Full text: none.
    • Update frequency: daily.
    • Coverage dates: From BCE 1000 to present.
    • Number of titles, as of July 24, 2014: 0ver 300 million bibliographic records, with holdings information for 72,000 libraries.
    • Access restrictions for restricted version: Off Campus.
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip