This is the "Unrestricted Databases" page of the " Database descriptions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database descriptions  

General information and descriptions for e-resources available from the Cooper Union Library and for selected e-resources at NYU and the New School libraries.
Last Updated: Mar 15, 2017 URL: http://cooper.libguides.com/databases Print Guide

Unrestricted Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
 

Public Library of Science (PLoS)

Public Library of Science (PLoS)

Subjects covered include

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: All PLoS journals are peer-reviewed.
  • Full text: all.
  • Update frequency: daily.
  • Coverage dates: PLoS biology 2003-present, PLoS medicine 2004-present, PLoS computational biology 2005-present. PLoS genetics 2005-present, PLoS pathogens 2005-present, PLoS ONE 2006-present, PLoS neglected tropical diseases 2007-present.
  • Number of current journal titles: 7 original journals, plus Currents and blogs.
  • Access restrictions: None.
 

PubMed (MEDLINE and more)

PubMed (MEDLINE and more)

Subjects covered include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources (National Center for Biotechnology Information). PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: It is not possible to limit a search to peer-reviewed sources. For guidance, see the guide to Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals.
  • Full text: some.
  • Update frequency: daily.
  • Coverage dates: 1950 to present.
  • Number of current journal titles: 5,563 as of September, 2011. View title list.
  • Access restrictions: None.
 

Science.gov

Science.gov

Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. Search over 50 scientific databases and over 2,100 selected websites with just one query. Science.gov is an interagency initiative of 16 U.S. government science organizations within 12 Federal Agencies. These agencies form the voluntary Science.gov Alliance which governs Science.gov.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: It is not possible to limit a search to peer-reviewed sources. For guidance, see the guide to Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals.
  • Full text: some.
  • Update frequency: ?
  • Coverage dates: ?
  • Number of current journal titles: N/A
  • Access restrictions: None.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip