The Cooper Union Library
7 East 7th Street
New York, NY 10003.
For further information
or to make an appointment,
Following are finding aids for collections available in the Cooper Archives. Interested researchers are welcome to make an appointment to view these collections.
Includes minutes, photographs and detailed descriptions of meetings. The Society's members explored discoveries in all areas of science, not restricted solely to electrical topics.
A list of volumes and subjects that comprise the 42 volumes of typed transcripts of the correspondence of Abram S. Hewitt (1822-1903). These volumes were compiled by Hewitt's intended biographer, Albert Heusser, who died before he could complete the work.
Includes correspondence, published and manuscript speeches and other writings, account books, financial documents and photographs documenting the lives and work of Peter Cooper (1791-1883) and Abram S. Hewitt (1822-1903) and their families. Also included are books from Peter Cooper's personal library.
Includes papers from Abram S. Hewitt's terms in the U.S. House of Representatives and his term as Mayor of New York City, and documents from Cooper, Hewitt & Company, including transactions during the Civil War to procure gun iron for the United States government; business correspondence with John Roebling and his wire factory in Brooklyn, and correspondence pertaining to railroads. Also included is some Cooper-Hewitt family correspondence, and material relating to Hewitt's real estate interests, telegraph companies, and the iron industry. A file on Hewitt's philanthropic interests documents his involvement with the Burke Foundation. The files also include personal correspondence of Peter Cooper, Abram S. Hewitt and Edward Cooper; documents relating to the founding and development of Cooper Union, and papers documenting Abram S. Hewitt's involvement with his own alma mater, Columbia University.
Includes correspondence with, and the commencement speeches of, well-known individuals such as Tom Wolfe, Ed Koch, Kurt Vonnegut, Betty Friedan, James Dickey, William Stanley Merwin, Charlayne Hunter-Gault, Leo Lionni, Edward R. Tufte, Ruth Messinger, Nobel laureate Russell Hulse, artist/inventor Chuck Hoberman, graphic designer Milton Glaser, and Rudolph Giuliani. Also included are press releases, commencement planning and procedural documents, and information on alumni who received awards at commencement.
Laying the cornerstone was for a new building was a key piece of Cooper Union's 100th anniversary celebration in 1959 The cornerstone contents include photographs of the Bible House, previously occupying the site; examples of current technology, such as a transistor and a piece of titanium; items related to the history of Cooper Union and publications describing the college's centennial; and items relating to the workings of the college, including a financial report and entrance examinations taken by Cooper students.
In 1978 the Committee for Astor Place was created to renovate the then deteriorating Astor Place subway station. Cooper Union and New York University co-chaired the organization, which found help from the likes of Milton Glaser, Brooke Astor, and The Vincent Astor Foundation. The architectural firm Prentice & Chan, Ohlhausen signed on and in 1986, renovation was completed. This collection includes correspondence, press releases, mission proposals, and photographs.
This collection includes correspondence, press releases, evaluations, financial data and other materials largely from the period 1962-1968 when the future of the Museum at Cooper Union was in question.
The Cooper Union Student Union was a student group that existed briefly from 1977 to about 1979, in response to several key issues facing the Cooper community at the time; the group was also involved in preparation for the institution's 1978 accreditation review.
Records of the Cooper Union Engineering Honor Societies: Mu Alpha Omicron and the Iota Chapter of Tau Beta Pi, 1926-1981
Includes records of membership, finances, publications, awards and memorabilia for Tau Beta Pi and its predecessor Mu Alpha Omicron.
Includes mostly papers from 1894-1914: Association minutes, banquet programs, drawings for 1891 marble and bronze tablet to commemorate the one hundredth anniversary of Peter Cooper's birth.
Contains pamphlets, invitations, and historic materials from the Alumni Association / Alumni Federation, and materials relating to Cooper Union's Debating Class, Electrical Engineering Society, Electrical Engineering Alumni Association, The Student Council/Student League, Architectural Alumni Association, The Chemical Society, The General Science Alumni Association, and celebrations of Founder's Day.
The guest books include signatures and drawings by students and other visitors to Green Camp. Includes entries from 1941 to circa 1970.
Papers of Edward C. Mack (1904-1998), related to the writing of the book, Peter Cooper, Citizen of New York
Includes correspondence and contracts related to the book; also reviews of the book, and a brief biography of Peter Cooper.
The Gregg papers contain materials relating to Gregg’s work with the Cooper Union Alumni Association and ephemera relating to Cooper Union, including its fundraising, continuing education, reunions and events.
George Bateman was a 1907 graduate of Cooper Union who became Dean of the Engineering School. The papers encompass business and personal material. including items relating to friends and students, the Army and Navy Club of America. various cycling clubs and postcard images of Cooper Union.
Norma Rancken was a 1946 graduate of the day program in Mechanical Engineering at Cooper Union, at a time when female students were still rare in Engineering schools. The papers consist largely of memorabilia of her career at Cooper Union.
Early Annual Reports of The Cooper Union (1860-1884)
(Project in progress). The first fifteen Annual Reports are available in completely searchable format. The remaining reports are in draft format (not yet searchable). Draft reports are being replaced by searchable versions at the rate of approximately one per week. Click here to view the Annual Reports collection.
The Cooper Archives contains a great deal of material not listed here.
The Cooper Archives consists of books, manuscripts, papers, scrapbooks and photographs relating to the history of the Cooper Union and to its founder, Peter Cooper.
The collection also includes items relating to the college's first executive officer, Abram S. Hewitt, and to the Cooper and Hewitt families. Much of this material is indexed via a card catalog in the Cooper Union Library, which is accessible to the public by appointment.